Monday, February 4, 2013

Books Kids Love, Part I

Anne at so tomorrow and I got to talking on Twitter a few weeks back--she was looking for additional read-alikes for Dork Diaries, and I was offering suggestions for similar series that my kids are enjoying. That conversation turned to how series popularity can vary from library to library, and from there we started wondering what kids love at libraries other than our own. And so this two-part survey was born.

If you'd be so kind, please take a moment to think about what middle grade series are most popular with the kids you serve. There's no need to check circ stats--just name some titles off the top of your head (or look to your hold shelf!). Data collected from this survey will inform the next step in our exploration, with a culmination of series popularity info on our blogs at the end of February. Thanks for sharing what your kids love reading!

2 comments:

  1. It's kind of strange, thinking about it-- I answered to the best of my ability, but it's more the K-2 set who want series. Older kids are more likely to check out NF or stand-alone books at our library. Can't wait to read the answers!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This was hard! Acelerated Reading is all the rage in our school districts so I feel like very few middle grade readers actually read at the middle grade level at my library. They're either way higher or way lower. I'm excited to see the responses!

    ReplyDelete